Reviews · Young Adult

Something to Think About: We Are Okay by Nina LaCour

Title: We Are Okay Author: Nina LaCour Publisher: Penguin Release Date: February 14, 2017 Rating: 5★ Recommended For: Those looking for character studies and good writing over fast-paced plot. Those looking for a raw, honest portrayal of grief. You go through life thinking there’s so much you need. . .. Until you leave with only… Continue reading Something to Think About: We Are Okay by Nina LaCour

Graphic Novels · Reviews · Young Adult

More than a Sidekick: The Jughead Spin-Off

Title: Jughead Author(s): Chip Zdarsky and Ryan North Illustrator(s): Erica Henderson and Derek Charm Publisher: Archie Comics Release Date: 7/26/16 and 3/14/17 Rating: 5★ Recommended For: Fans of Squirrel Girl, Lumber Janes, and Ms. Marvel YAY: I loved everything about this reboot, from the art, to the characterization, to the delightful mix of nonsensical yet… Continue reading More than a Sidekick: The Jughead Spin-Off

Middle Grade · Reviews · Throwback

Throwback Thursday: The Underland Chronicles by Suzanne Collins

Series: The Underland Chronicles Author: Suzanne Collins First Book: Gregor the Overlander Publisher: Scholastic Release Date: Sept. 1, 2003 Rating: 5 ★ Grade Level: 630L/4.6 Recommended For: Fans of Hunger Games, The City of Ember, the Warriors series, and anything by Brian Jacques When Gregor falls through a grate in the laundry room of his… Continue reading Throwback Thursday: The Underland Chronicles by Suzanne Collins

Graphic Novels · Reviews · Young Adult

Back to Riverdale: The Archie Revival

Title: Archie Vol. 1 & 2 Author: Mark Waid Illustrators: Fiona Staples and Veronica Fish Publisher: Archie Comics Release Date: 3/29/16 & 12/20/16 Rating: 2★ Recommended For: First time comic book readers, fans of Riverdale TV show YAY: Even if I wasn't a fan of the comics, I have to admit that the art, especially in… Continue reading Back to Riverdale: The Archie Revival

Reviews · Young Adult

If ‘Dragons’ doesn’t sell you, I don’t know what will: The Abyss Surrounds Us by Emily Skrutskie

Title: The Abyss Surrounds Us Author: Emily Skrutskie Publisher: Flux Release Date: Feb. 8, 2016 Rating: 3 1/2★ Reading Level: 940L / 6.3 Recommended For: Fans of Eragon, Tattoo Atlas by Tim Floreen, or Teeth by Hannah Moskowitz Cassandra Leung’s been a sea monster trainer ever since she could walk, raising genetically engineered beasts to… Continue reading If ‘Dragons’ doesn’t sell you, I don’t know what will: The Abyss Surrounds Us by Emily Skrutskie

Reading Challenge · Reviews · Young Adult

Author Recommends: Tattoo Atlas by Tim Floreen

Title: Tattoo Atlas Author: Tim Floreen Publisher: Simon Pulse Release Date: Oct 18, 2016 Reading Level: HL700L / 5.0 Challenge: A book recommended by an author you love. Rating: 3 ½ ★ A year ago, Rem Braithwaite watched his classmate Franklin Kettle commit a horrific crime. Now, apart from the nightmares, life has gone back… Continue reading Author Recommends: Tattoo Atlas by Tim Floreen

Middle Grade · Reviews · Throwback

Let’s Start With a Throwback

Series: The Tapestry Series Author: Henry H. Neff First Book: The Hound of Rowan Publisher: Random House Release Date: Sept. 25, 2007 Rating: 5 ★ Reading Level: 810-910L / 5.9-6.6 Recommended For: Fans of Harry Potter, Percy Jackson, The Raven Boys, and Gregor the Overlander MAX MCDANIELS LIVES a quiet life in the suburbs of… Continue reading Let’s Start With a Throwback