Let's Talk

I Forgot What It’s Like to Be In School

So I don't know if anyone noticed, but I've started adding a reading level category for all the books I can when I post a review. For some, and this is especially true if the book is new, I cannot find a rating on either site I use. When that happens, I'll most likely post… Continue reading I Forgot What It’s Like to Be In School

Advertisements
Mini Reviews · Wrap Up

March Wrap Up

Okay, so maybe April is almost over. So what? It just means you all will have another one of these wrap ups to look forward to even sooner. Be grateful, because the April Wrap Up will be much lighter fare. Anyway, on to the books! Title: Endangered Author: Lamar Giles Publisher: Harper Teen Release Date:… Continue reading March Wrap Up

Reviews · Young Adult

Something to Think About: We Are Okay by Nina LaCour

Title: We Are Okay Author: Nina LaCour Publisher: Penguin Release Date: February 14, 2017 Rating: 5★ Recommended For: Those looking for character studies and good writing over fast-paced plot. Those looking for a raw, honest portrayal of grief. You go through life thinking there’s so much you need. . .. Until you leave with only… Continue reading Something to Think About: We Are Okay by Nina LaCour

Graphic Novels · Reviews · Young Adult

More than a Sidekick: The Jughead Spin-Off

Title: Jughead Author(s): Chip Zdarsky and Ryan North Illustrator(s): Erica Henderson and Derek Charm Publisher: Archie Comics Release Date: 7/26/16 and 3/14/17 Rating: 5★ Recommended For: Fans of Squirrel Girl, Lumber Janes, and Ms. Marvel YAY: I loved everything about this reboot, from the art, to the characterization, to the delightful mix of nonsensical yet… Continue reading More than a Sidekick: The Jughead Spin-Off

Middle Grade · Reviews · Throwback

Throwback Thursday: The Underland Chronicles by Suzanne Collins

Series: The Underland Chronicles Author: Suzanne Collins First Book: Gregor the Overlander Publisher: Scholastic Release Date: Sept. 1, 2003 Rating: 5 ★ Grade Level: 630L/4.6 Recommended For: Fans of Hunger Games, The City of Ember, the Warriors series, and anything by Brian Jacques When Gregor falls through a grate in the laundry room of his… Continue reading Throwback Thursday: The Underland Chronicles by Suzanne Collins

Graphic Novels · Reviews · Young Adult

Back to Riverdale: The Archie Revival

Title: Archie Vol. 1 & 2 Author: Mark Waid Illustrators: Fiona Staples and Veronica Fish Publisher: Archie Comics Release Date: 3/29/16 & 12/20/16 Rating: 2★ Recommended For: First time comic book readers, fans of Riverdale TV show YAY: Even if I wasn't a fan of the comics, I have to admit that the art, especially in… Continue reading Back to Riverdale: The Archie Revival

Reviews · Young Adult

If ‘Dragons’ doesn’t sell you, I don’t know what will: The Abyss Surrounds Us by Emily Skrutskie

Title: The Abyss Surrounds Us Author: Emily Skrutskie Publisher: Flux Release Date: Feb. 8, 2016 Rating: 3 1/2★ Reading Level: 940L / 6.3 Recommended For: Fans of Eragon, Tattoo Atlas by Tim Floreen, or Teeth by Hannah Moskowitz Cassandra Leung’s been a sea monster trainer ever since she could walk, raising genetically engineered beasts to… Continue reading If ‘Dragons’ doesn’t sell you, I don’t know what will: The Abyss Surrounds Us by Emily Skrutskie

Reading Challenge · Reviews · Young Adult

Author Recommends: Tattoo Atlas by Tim Floreen

Title: Tattoo Atlas Author: Tim Floreen Publisher: Simon Pulse Release Date: Oct 18, 2016 Reading Level: HL700L / 5.0 Challenge: A book recommended by an author you love. Rating: 3 ½ ★ A year ago, Rem Braithwaite watched his classmate Franklin Kettle commit a horrific crime. Now, apart from the nightmares, life has gone back… Continue reading Author Recommends: Tattoo Atlas by Tim Floreen

Middle Grade · Reviews · Throwback

Let’s Start With a Throwback

Series: The Tapestry Series Author: Henry H. Neff First Book: The Hound of Rowan Publisher: Random House Release Date: Sept. 25, 2007 Rating: 5 ★ Reading Level: 810-910L / 5.9-6.6 Recommended For: Fans of Harry Potter, Percy Jackson, The Raven Boys, and Gregor the Overlander MAX MCDANIELS LIVES a quiet life in the suburbs of… Continue reading Let’s Start With a Throwback